Highland Heroes Awards 2017

Friday, 25th August 2017

The Scottish Provincial Press are launching the first Highland Heroes Awards. The awards were designed to recognise the people in the Highlands who make a real difference to our communities, healthcare, education, safety and well being. Developing the Young Workforce Inverness and Central Highland are proudly sponsoring the Secondary Pupil of the year award. Programme manager, Andy Maxtone was published in last Fridays edition of The Inverness Courier:

“We are really excited to be sponsoring the secondary pupil of the year category, one that we feel is so important in empowering and celebrating the often-unsung heroes that are enrolled in our secondary school here in the Highlands.”

“There is a massive abundance of talent in the area and the award category will help bring that to light and allow us to engage with even more young people.”

 “The winner of secondary pupil of the year will give the area a local champion to bring us into 2018, Scotland’s Year of Young People, and help spread the message far and wide – to fellow young people, teachers, parents and employers – of the outstanding pupils we have in the region."

“Part of the magic of the Highlands is our people, and the Highland Heroes Awards are a fantastic way to recognise and say thank you to our local starts.”

These are just some of the praising comments Andy made about these prestigious awards, which the whole DYW team are delighted to be a part of. If you know a Highland hero but haven’t yet voted for them you can complete the nomination form down below with a maximum of 200 words stating why the individual you are voting for deserves to win – entries end on September 11th, so get your entries in soon!

A judging panel will draw up a shortlist of three nominees in each category, and have a special supplement in The Press and Journal in early October will give details of how readers can vote their favourite nominees. The awards will be held at the Kingsmills Hotel, Inverness on November 9th where the winners will be announced. 

To nominate - click this link